Union's General Sessions

Click HERE to view York's General Session Information.

South Carolina Circuit Courts are divided into two divisions:

  1. General Sessions (criminal court); and
  2. Common Pleas (civil court).

General Sessions Court handles felony and misdemeanor criminal cases ranging from those with a penalty of more than 30 days and / or a $500 fine to those carrying the death penalty.
The Magistrate and Municipal court system handles misdemeanor offenses with a penalty of 30 days or less and / or a fine of up to $500.

We are the 16th Judicial Circuit of South Carolina (York and Union Counties). We handle General Session cases in the circuit and assist in some magistrate level cases. On the right of this page, you will see a list of links that will take you to information about our circuit.